ABB5k & Expo!

I’ve been terribly neglectful of my blog, so a lot has happened, including marathon weekend!

Saturday morning, I was alarmed to feel the very beginning stages of getting sick.  NOOO! I’ve been training for forever (months) for this weekend and I was determined to race.  Last year, I was sick for over a month before the Houston Marathon and made the tough choice to defer my spot for this year!  I would do my best to stay as healthy as possible and the ABB 5k would be a good test.  It was a bit chilly out– around 50, so I wore my Nike running jacket, a tank underneath, Nike tights, and my headwarmer.  Forgot my gloves, oops. I met up with Tim, Becky, and Aydee shortly before the start of the 5k and ended up running the entire race with Becky.  We didn’t bother trying to weave and had a lovely chat while we ran!

Official Time: 32:52
Pace: 10:35/M

Mile 1: 11:04
Mile 2: 10:42
Mile 3:  9:46

The last 0.18 was at a 8:37/pace.  I like to speed up for the finish!  Haha, I think that might be my slowest time for a 5k.  No big, just a warm-up for the real race tomorrow!

Another mile and 4 parking lots later, I finally grabbed my cc and license and returned to George R. Brown Convention Center for packet pick-up and the expo.  I love expos! I snagged $50 Ravenna’s, Nike shorts, and Nike tops from Luke’s Locker as well as some Nuun and the complimentary Nuun water bottle. Oh yes, and I got my bib & shirt for the marathon. :)

2 comments

Leave a Reply

