Rockets Fun Run 5k (2.8 miles): Post-Run Report

I barely made the Rockets Run!  The plan was to meet at 6:30am to get to the Toyota Center before 7:15am to get free parking.  Welll, I didn’t wake up until 7:00am when Timmy called me to see where I was.  Oops.

Luckily, I had gotten ready the night before and was out of my apartment in 10 minutes!  I was going to wear the Rockets Run shirt, but there was a chance of rain and I didn’t want to be weighed down by a wet 100% cotton t-shirt.  Plus, weather forecast for around 70 degrees.  No time for breakfast, but I grabbed some sport jelly beans.  I was there by 7:30am and paid $10 to park right in front of the Toyota Center.  Whew. Run was scheduled to start 8am.

Mile 0:  The start was crowded, as usual, but not nearly as bad as EP5k.  It had been lightly sprinkling outside and I had hoped it’d stop by the time our run started, but no such luck.  I wore my Garmin Forerunner 305 for the first time for a run.

Mile 1: I was trying to pace myself better and go for negative splits but I started off too fast and ended up going the faster in the first mile.  It’s hard when you see everyone else flying by!

Mile 2: We ran through downtown to midtown, went around a block, and head back the opposite direction.  It was fairly straight forward.   I kept on wiping my face from the rain.

Mile 3: I stopped at the second water station and took 2 gulps, but it threw off my breathing (and got water all over my shirt), so I walked for a 10-15 seconds.  My Garmin lost signal when we got to the Toyota Center and went underground.

Finish: When I approached the court, I broke out into a sprint.  I surprised to see the clock at under 25 minutes when I crossed the finish line.  What in the world…?  I certainly didn’t feel like I was going that fast.

My official time was 24:44!  I was pretty incredulous about it and we later figured out that the course was only 2.8 miles.  Ah.  So, that put me at a 8:50 per mile pace, which was close to my pace for the EP5k.  What’s strange is that my Garmin showed my splits to be 1) 8:22 2) 8:47 3) 8:42 with an average pace of 8:36 per mile for a total of 2.74 miles in 23:35.

If the whole run were 2.8 miles, that would mean the last 0.06 miles took me 1:09.  My guess is that the total mileage was rounded down to 2.8 miles so, my actual pace should be a little faster than the 8:50 per mile.  Makes me feel a little bit better, lol.

Rockets Run 5k (2.8 miles) 2012
January 21, 2012
Bib: 521
Chip time: 24:44.9
Pace: 8:50 per mile
Pace Division 24/278
Place Overall 437/2138

Leave a Reply

