From 5k to Half Marathon…!

In the next few months (Feb-April), I have one 5k, three 10k’s, and two half marathons.  I may have gone a little overboard, ha.  On hindsight, I should have just signed up for my goal races, and then figured out if the other races worked with my training schedule.  Oh well.  Live and learn.

Since the Rockets Run was short, my friend Richard has to do another ‘first’ 5k.  I happened to get a flyer for the Rhythm and Blues Half Marathon & 5k race for February 19, so I suggested signing up.   Then, I decided 5k seemed a little short, soooo I signed up for the half marathon instead.  Brilliant, right?   Half marathon a week before my first 10k!

I’m excited…and nervous.  First and foremost, I’d like to complete the half marathon!  It’s an inaugural race, 3 loops on Allen Parkway, and live music!  I ran Allen Parkway for my first run last October– Race for the Cure, and it was rough for me with the road’s ups and downs (don’t laugh, it’s so flat here!!).   Anyway, I would love to do a 10:00 min/mile pace, total time of 2:11:06.  We’ll see how I feel about that goal after my long run this weekend with my new running partner.  🙂

2 comments

Leave a Reply

