Blue Bell Run 10k Race Report

The Blue Bell Fun Run was held in Brenham, TX, and was the designated race for our 10k bet!  Again, 3 girls versus 3 guys.  Unfortunately, one of the girls was recovering from being sick and opted not to run, although she still came along.  So, it’d just be the average time of Karen and I versus the average time of the 3 guys.

We hadn’t picked up our packets yet so a group of us met up at my place to leave around 5:30am! Traffic wasn’t bad going to the race but I can’t say the same for leaving the race.  Packet pick-up was in the high school– the tech t-shirts were cool although my small was quite large.  The weather predicted high winds and warm temperatures in the 70’s, so I opted to wear my own pink tank top.

I had heard from some friends that the course was hilly with a brutal hill at the very end. With this in mind, I knew there was a good chance I may not PR, but that’s okay. Good training for San Fran!

We ran through the rolling hills through Brenham, going down neighborhood roads.  I walked through two of the water stations.  I was expecting high winds but while there were random gusts of wind that felt nice, there were some dead areas where the heat would be unbearable!  I started strong and even thought I had a chance for a PR…until I turned a corner and saw the hill coming ahead.  NOPE.  Not going to happen.  Halfway up the hill, I checked my pace– 10:30/M.  Ouch.  My form went to crap as I fought with my body to keep passing up other runners and after the torturous trek uphill, I was SO happy when I turned the corner and realized the rest was downhill to the finish.  I quickly picked up my pace and had a fast sprint crossing the finish line!

Splits: 8:50, 8:47, 8:50, 9:08, 9:01, 9:43, (0.29 miles) 7:39

See that 7:39 pace? Yep, I flewww through the end!  I’m glad I did because Tim’s time was merely 3 seconds longer than mine!  We got to enjoy unlimited icecream bars (I had 2.5) afterwards, followed by a trip to Chappell Hill Bakery & Deli for BBQ and kolaches!  Awesome.

Girls ended up losing the 10k bet (again), but I did get the best time overall and I’m cool with that. I’m going to be sore tomorrow, lol.


Blue Bell Fun Run 10k

April 14, 2012
Time: 56:28.4
Pace: 9:06/M
Total: 265/1184
Gender: 96/720

Leave a Reply

